I want my money back

So I’m a bit of a movie geek. I watch a lot. A lot. I mean it. Series, movies, animations – you name it. Recently all this hubbub over copyright, people being sued and all, got me thinking – what is the real problem here? I think I might have some advice for what the world calls the industry:

1. If you don’t give people chance to fullfil their needs, they will find a way – http://theoatmeal.com/comics/game_of_thrones says it all.

2. If you push hard on few douche-bags (you’re a rebel, oh yeah!) and try to make an example of them, then all good people (see 1.) are compelled to feel threaten and will not like you anymore. And they don’t.

3. (my favorite) When I buy something and I don’t like it, or worse – it simply sucks, I can return/exchange it and get my money back/worth – whatever that is, I don’t feel cheated.

Then I go to the cinema and end up thinking – ‘I want my money back’. If the poster says 3D, I expect it also from the story and the characters.

Then I buy some new music album and end up thinking – ‘I want my money back’. I don’t care how many other artists are featured on the album and I don’t need a new one every year. I can wait as long as it’s real music.

My advice to the industry – let people watch, listen and play for free. You will be surprised how many of them will get back to you to pay for what they love and appreciate. You can’t measure the real value of art by pushing it down the consumers throats. 1 million sold copies does not equal 1 million happy people (and you know it).

My chemistry teacher used to say – ‘It’s about the quality, not the quantity’. Sadly everything nowadays is about quantity.

All hail 3D (glasses not included).

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shanno says:

    I totally agree with you. I used to go to the movies all the time. I loved it…it was my escape. Then they just started pouring out, they were in the theatres for about three weeks and mostly, they just kind of sucked. Now I bide my time and wait around for a quality film to come out and I will go see that. Which has resulted in me only going to see movies a few times a year now as compared to three or four times (sometimes more) a month. I can’t stand the fact that 3D is involved in almost every movie that comes out now, either. I will either go and see the 2D version or I’ll wait for DVD. I wear glasses every day of my life and putting those stupid 3D glasses over top of them just results in a sore neck, a headache, and a very poor movie going experience for me.

    1. useresu says:

      One thing I noticed is that I’m buying a lot more old movies now, because the new ones suck – maybe that’s how they play it 🙂

      1. Shanno says:

        I do the same thing. I rarely go to the theatre and most of the movies I’ve purchased in the last few years have been old favourites from over ten years ago

Leave a reply after the beep...

